How to Test the Salt Level in a Pool

A pool salinity test by strip, drop kit or salt meter, and which reading to trust.

A Pentair panel can read off by about one 40-lb bag of salt. Pentair rates the IntelliChlor sensor at ±500 ppm. In a 10,000-gallon pool, that’s 41.7 lb. Hayward expects an AquaRite panel to read within 500 ppm of an independent test.

Test a water sample with a strip, a Taylor K-1766 drop kit (200 ppm per drop) or a calibrated salt meter, then compare it with the panel. The table below turns each method’s stated error into pounds of salt for your pool size.

None of the top-ranking pages we read gives a maker’s tolerance for any test method. Here you get each one with its source, plus which number to put into the salt calculator.

What each test's error means for your pool

Before you dose

Five ways to read salt

Which pool salt test should you use?

Use a drop kit or a calibrated digital meter when you want a number. A strip is fine for a quick check. The kit gives you a drop count and the meter a digital readout. A strip gives a spot on a printed chart, which reads more like a band. Of the strips, kits and meters below, only LaMotte states an accuracy figure in the documents we checked.

Salt test methods, the error each maker states, and that error in pounds of salt
Method (example)What it readsMaker's stated errorError in pounds, 10,000 galError in pounds, 15,000 galHow often the maker says to test
Test strip (AquaChek White salt strips)400–7,000 ppm, read off the chart on that bottleNot statedn/an/aMonthly
Drop kit (Taylor K-1766)Drops counted; each drop = 200 ppmNot stated (one drop is the smallest step)16.7 lb per drop25.0 lb per dropNot stated on the instruction sheet
Digital meter (LaMotte 1749)0–9,999 ppm±2% FS, up to about ±200 ppm*up to about 16.7 lbup to about 25.0 lbNot stated (calibrate monthly)
Salt system panelPentair: LED ranges. Jandy: a number in g/L. Hayward: a salt readingPentair ±500 ppm. Hayward: within 500 ppm of an independent test. Jandy: not stated in the manualPentair and Hayward: 41.7 lb (about 1 bag)Pentair and Hayward: 62.6 lb (about 1.6 bags)Pentair and Jandy: monthly. Hayward: not stated in the troubleshooting guide
Pool storeVaries by storeNot publishedn/an/aJandy: take a sample monthly

*LaMotte's manual gives ±2% FS (full scale). The table assumes full scale means the top of the 9,999 ppm range; if LaMotte means 2% of the reading, the error is smaller.

The pounds come from the site’s constant: 83.45 lb of salt raises 10,000 gal by 1,000 ppm. The methodology page shows the derivation. The dose table on the Taylor K-1766 instructions (125 lb raises 10,000 gal by 1,500 ppm) lands on the same figure within rounding.

“Independent test” is Hayward’s phrase for a salt test that doesn’t come from the salt system itself. Hayward’s guide names a calibrated salt meter; on this page the term covers any strip, drop kit, meter or pool-store sample. Pentair asks for a “separate reliable test method” and notes that salt readings vary between strips, electronic testers and titration.

Salt is measured in ppm (parts per million), the same unit as mg/L. Jandy AquaPure panels show grams per liter (g/L) instead, so multiply by 1,000 to get ppm.

Your pool

What the error means for your pool

  • Test strip (AquaChek White salt strips)No accuracy stated
  • Drop kit (Taylor K-1766)25.0 lb per drop
  • Digital meter (LaMotte 1749)up to about 25.0 lb (0.6 × 40-lb bag)
  • Pentair or Hayward panelabout 62.6 lb (1.6 × 40-lb bags)
  • Pool storeNot published
Take your reading to the salt calculator

The calculator doses from the test reading and shows the gap to your panel in pounds.

Titration

How to test pool salt with a drop kit

With a Taylor K-1766 drop kit, add indicator to a 10 mL sample, then count drops of titrant until the sample first turns milky salmon. Multiply the count by 200 to get ppm.

This is titration. You add a reagent one drop at a time until the color changes, and the drop count gives the salt level. The 4 steps below come from Taylor’s instruction sheet (Instr. #5031). The sheet calls the kit K-1766; forum threads often write T-1766.

  1. Fill the sample tube to 10 mL with pool water.
  2. Add 1 drop of R-0630 indicator. The sample turns yellow.

Warning before step 3: stop at the first color change. The sample goes from yellow to a milky salmon (brick red), then on to brown. Brown means you’ve added too many drops and the count is high.

  1. Add R-0718 drop by drop, counting each drop, until the sample first turns milky salmon.
  2. Multiply the drop count by 200. The result is the salt level in ppm.

Fifteen drops, for example, read 3,000 ppm. Each drop is worth 200 ppm, so the kit can’t resolve anything finer than 16.7 lb of salt in a 10,000 gal pool. Taylor’s sheet gives no accuracy figure beyond that step size.

Strips

How to test pool salt with test strips

Stand an AquaChek salt strip in about an inch of pool water until the yellow band at the top turns dark. Then read where the color peak stops against the chart on that bottle. The AquaChek Salt System Test Kit insert lays it out in 3 steps.

  1. Fill a clean cup with about an inch of pool water.
  2. Stand the strip in the water and leave it until the yellow band at the top turns dark.
  3. Find where the top of the light-colored peak stops, then read that mark against the chart printed on the same bottle.

Always read against the chart on your own bottle. AquaChek says every bottle has its own chart, so one copied from an old bottle or a web image may not match your strips. AquaChek’s product pages give a 400–7,000 ppm range but no accuracy figure.

Conductivity

How to test pool salt with a digital salt meter

Calibrate the meter against a salt standard, take the sample where your meter’s manual says, and read the ppm value.

A conductivity meter measures how easily the water carries an electrical current. That rises with dissolved salt, and the meter converts it to ppm. Pentair’s manual says you can use a handheld meter calibrated for NaCl (salt), and Jandy’s says the same for checks made before the unit is wired. The steps below follow the LaMotte 1749 manual as an example meter, not a recommendation.

  1. Calibrate before first use with a 3,000 ppm salt standard, then repeat the calibration monthly. An uncalibrated meter's reading has no check behind it.
  2. Sample as your meter's manual says. Jandy's manual notes that water temperature affects its readout and says to read it at the equipment; follow your meter's manual for where to dip it.
  3. Read the ppm value. The LaMotte 1749 corrects for temperature automatically (2.0% per °C).

The number to use

Which salt reading goes into the pool salt calculator?

For a Pentair or Hayward system, type the independent test result into the salt water pool calculator, not the panel reading.

That’s our reading of those two manuals: both treat the independent test as the check on the cell. Jandy’s manual names no tie-breaker. On a Jandy, clean and power-cycle the sensor, then compare the panel with a fresh test before you add salt. If they still disagree, the manual doesn’t say which to trust.

For the full add-and-retest routine, see how much salt to add to your pool. The dose needs your gallons too. You can work out the pool volume in gallons from length, width and the two end depths.

Worked example

A 15,000 gal pool on a Hayward system shows 3,400 ppm on the panel. A calibrated meter reads 2,900 ppm. That 500 ppm gap is 62.6 lb of salt, about 1.6 bags. By Hayward’s measure the panel is still within its 500 ppm band, but that gap is more than a bag and a half. Type 2,900 into the calculator. The panel already reads above the 3,200 ppm Hayward target, so trusting it would add no salt and leave the pool 300 ppm short. That’s 37.6 lb of salt.

  1. Panel3,400 ppm
  2. Calibrated meter2,900 ppm
  3. Panel-to-meter gap500 ppm = 62.6 lb
  4. Short of the 3,200 ppm target300 ppm = 37.6 lb
  5. Type into the calculator2,900 ppm
Run 2,900 ppm and 15,000 gallons in the salt calculator

Panel versus test

Why does the salt system panel disagree with a test?

The manuals name four reasons: the sensor’s own tolerance, scale on the cell or sensor, a wrong cell-type setting, and water temperature. Your test has a margin of error too, as the table above shows.

Pentair IntelliChlor

The IntelliChlor shows salt as LED ranges. It doesn’t give a ppm number. The manual rates the sensor at ±500 ppm, so a gap of up to 500 ppm is inside Pentair’s own tolerance. After adding salt, Pentair says to wait 24 hours, then check the level on the LEDs and with a separate reliable test method. In cold water the cell goes to standby below 52 °F (11 °C), within ±3 °F (±1.7 °C), and Pentair says an accurate salt report resumes only once the water is above 52 °F (11 °C). So wait for warmer water before you read the LEDs.

Hayward AquaRite

Hayward expects some gap. The Hayward AquaRite Troubleshooting Guide (TSG-AQR159d) says the system should read salt within 500 ppm of an independent test with a calibrated salt meter. If the gap is wider than 500 ppm, run these three checks in order.

  1. Clean the cell. Hayward says cell cleanliness plays a major role in accurate salt reporting.
  2. Check the programmed cell type. If the wrong TurboCell type is set, Hayward says the salt level will be inaccurate.
  3. Reset the average salt reading twice. The two polarity readings should land within 500 ppm of each other.

In cold water, Hayward scales back output at 60 °F (16 °C) and stops production at 50 °F (10 °C). The guide doesn’t say how cold water changes the salt reading itself.

Jandy AquaPure

Jandy gives no accuracy figure for the AquaPure sensor. Its manual names two things that affect the reading: water temperature and scale on the sensor. On testing, the manual says two different things. The product description says the built-in sensor means you don’t need to test salt by hand, but the monthly checklist recommends taking a water sample to your local pool store. To fix a suspect reading, clean the scale off the sensor, then switch the unit off and on so the sensor recalibrates. At start-up, if the first reading falls outside 3.0 to 3.5 g/L, Jandy says to press the “Salinity” button 2–3 more times until the number settles.

CircuPool and Intex

The CircuPool and Intex documents we read don’t cover salt testing. For those two brands, check your own manual.

Timing

When should you test the pool salt level?

Test before you add salt, 24 hours after adding it, and once a month.

  • Before adding salt

    Pentair says to always test before adding. Hayward says to check with independent tests before adding salt.

  • 24 hours after adding salt

    Pentair and Jandy both want 24 hours of circulation after adding salt before you check the level. Pentair’s check at that point uses both the panel and a separate test.

  • Monthly

    Pentair, Jandy and AquaChek each call for a monthly salt test. Hayward's troubleshooting guide gives no schedule.

Owner questions

Questions about testing pool salt

Answers come from the makers’ own documents. Where a document is silent, we say so.

How do I know if my salt pool needs more salt?

It needs salt when a test reads below the low edge of your salt system’s range on the pool salt level chart. Pool guides commonly give 3,200 ppm as the ideal salt level (2,700 to 3,400 ppm). Your panel flags low salt too. The Pentair IntelliChlor shows its red light below 2,800 ppm. The salt LEDs on a classic Hayward AquaRite flash at 2,400 to 2,700 ppm and stay solid at 2,300 ppm or less. A Jandy AquaPure turns the cell off below 2,000 ppm (service code 144). Take the reading from a strip, drop kit or meter, not the panel alone. Then the calculator gives the pounds to reach the target.

Can salt be too high?

Yes, on every system reviewed. Each manual sets a high edge, and Hayward’s salt table has a "Dilute" band at the top for a level high enough to lower. To fix it, drain part of the pool and refill with fresh water. The drain steps show how to lower the salt level.

Are salt test strips accurate?

AquaChek gives no accuracy figure for its salt strips, in the insert or on the product pages. We didn’t check other strip brands. Pentair’s manual notes that readings differ between strips, electronic testers and titration. A drop kit counts drops (each drop is 200 ppm) and a calibrated meter gives a number, but only the LaMotte meter states an accuracy figure.